top of page
  • Writer's pictureTessa

Me vs. the Fly

Invisible buzz rushing past my ear sends


Chills down my spine

A fly is near, a fly is near


Taunting me his transparent wings roar

Swish, swoosh, he dances in the air

He has no fear, he has no fear


Filthy little thing

Determined to land on my cup

Germs he’ll smear, germs he’ll smear


One million eyes watching me

Laughing in his power to ruin Goliath’s day

How he interferes, he interferes


The game is on, swatter in hand

This time David’s going down

Won’t shed a tear, won’t shed a tear


Passion grows with each

Swat he evades, so cunning

He disappears, he disappears


Not gone for good, he’ll be back

Zooming a victory lap around my head

I push it into high gear, into high gear


Whiz, whack, the battle rages on

Splat, dead carcass on the window

It’s all clear, it’s all clear


Victory is sweet, silence at last

Threat is squashed, I can now go on

The chill reappears, the chill reappears


Not a ghost, not a memory

His brother, back to avenge the kill

A fly is near, a fly is near


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page